Motivational Monday-A New Workout Challenge!

Just in case anyone noticed, I’ve been gone for a bit.  Turns out I got to witness this…

No Neck and Sonnet’s GORGEOUS wedding

 

Actually got my husband to take a picture with me…

He hates pictures, not the fact that I’m being silly or that I’m taller than him thanks to 4″ heels

 

I also got to watch this…

Opening Day of Spring Training 2011 between the San Diego Padres and the Seattle Mariners

 

And enjoy this…

J3 about to show his cousin Ry-Boo some love

 

In other words, I was in Phoenix for 15 glorious days.  No Neck and Sonnet were kind enough to put us up and we were able to see my Mom, Tree Hugger, Darth B and Ry-Boo quite a bit.  I ate like a queen, yet I didn’t gain any weight.  Why?  I think it was all the stairs I climbed at No Neck’s, the thrift shopping with Mom, the looking at houses (yes, we’re still on a kick that we might get to move back home) and just meandering in general.  We had a great time, but then it was back home to reality.

 

Although I lost a few pounds prior to the wedding, I’m still not losing the inches I want.  Then J2 called one night from work and had me look up this website. And right then and there I knew my next challenge that would get me into the gym on a regular basis.

In case you didn’t skip over to the site, the event is called the Warrior Dash and it’s basically running a 5K except with a ton of obstacles thrown in the mix.  You climb up cargo nets, scamper over giant hay bales, wade through streams and then-at the very end-you belly crawl through the mud under barbed wire.  Now THAT’S my kind of competition!  Apparently some of J2’s co-workers are competing in the one here in North Texas in a couple of weeks, but we decided to actually train and try the one in Central Texas in November.  On their website, it says this is how you train:

How do I train for Warrior Dash?

  1. Day one: run as far as you can. Go home.
  2. Day two: do the same thing.
  3. Find the dirtiest pond in your neighborhood and snorkel in it – in your slippers, without goggles.
  4. Practice your climbing and crawling skills at your local jungle gym. Ignore the small children and parental glares.
  5. Do not shower or shave for weeks in order to obtain a true Warrior look.

Seriously though, your best bet is to do plenty of running leading up to the race.

 

Yeah, my neighborhood has a pond.  Wonder how they’d feel about me snorkeling in it?

 

Since my favorite activities to get my blood pumping are hiking, rock climbing and anything that keeps me out of a gym, I figured this would be great.  Also, remember the chick in the middle?

Me, BBKF and T-Spot

While I was in Phoenix, she finished moving from Michigan to Fort Worth!  Turns out while she was up there, she picked up rock climbing and running, so now I have a workout partner and I’m thrilled.  She’s going to run the race with us as well.  Unfortunately, with T-Spot being a severely asthmatic she’s out (hay is not her friend), but she’s going to go with us anyway and cheer our muddy butts on to victory!

With that, I’m off to the gym.  If anyone out there has run this race and has any advice, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Oh, and as of Friday, Mommy Moxie has a new home!  We’re moving from WordPress.com to WordPress.org.  You’ll be able to find us at http://mommymoxie.com.  Hope to see you there!

‘Til next time,

Nicole

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linz
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 23:01:52

    I’ve seen this Warrior Dash thing and I’ve been pondering whether I should do it myself. But maybe I am a little scared! And…yes, I also don’t like mud…ok, I’m a wimp. Btw, I also live in Texas…in Katy. How’s your weather? Ours was gorgeous today b/c we’re getting a front in tonight!

    Reply

    • mommymoxie
      Apr 05, 2011 @ 09:52:15

      I figure that really, what have you got to lose? You can bow out if you want, but it just looks like something FUN. We’re not going to go to win anything, just to get dirty and say we did it. The one in November won’t be that far away from you-you should go!!!

      I’ve been through Katy! We’ve been down in the Houston area a couple of times. As for weather, we got storms early yesterday morning and it was windy and cool, so you’re about to get what blew through up here. Today we’re supposed to be back up in the mid 70’s and near the 90’s by the weekend. Gotta love Texas weather-always changing!

      Reply

  2. Debbie Baker Burns
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:23:13

    I think Moxie is a good name for you! This Warrior Dash sounds awesome! Definitely post pics of that. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and leaving such nice comments! I enjoy finding new blogs.

    Reply

  3. Debbie Baker Burns
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 19:29:00

    Hope you found your hat at Target!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

