Not Only Can Those Folks on Glee Sing, They Wear Great Outfits Too!

Are there any Glee fans out there?  I have to admit, I just started watching at the end of last season, but in a  world where we’re on our–what?–twenty third season of Survivor, a program that highlights supposed high school kids singing and dancing is a refreshing relief.  So last Tuesday night (the 16th) I grabbed my cocktail, found something to entertain the kid and settled in for an hour of really cool mash-ups.  Of course, I was not disappointed.

I think I must have missed the previews for the upcoming week the week before because I had no idea that Gwyneth Paltrow was guest starring as the substitute teacher, Holly Holiday.  Right off the bat I loved how she taught Spanish using Lindsey Lohan’s stints in rehab as a topic of conversation, but when she steps in to help out with Glee club…YES!  Just in case you missed it, here is the first song she whips out when the club challenges her to show them what she’s got.  You have to go to Entertainment Weekly’s site to check it out (since I can’t seem to get the darn thing to embed), but it’s worth stepping away for a minute (just be sure to come back).

(***imagine a nice Glee mash-up playing here***)

Notice her outfit? I know, I loved it too. Simple yet slightly sexy without having the principal in your classroom with the ruler to measure hem lines. Therefore, since I’ve been in a bit of a fashion-inspiration rut lately, I pulled together the elements in my closet that I could get away with in mid-November (and with late 30’s legs that don’t tan and that don’t look as nice as Gwynnie’s) and here’s what I came up with…(just ignore the dog toys and other paraphernalia in the background).

Cashmere Turtleneck:  Old Navy-gift from the BFF (T-Spot) last year for Christmas and they no longer carry them (for SHAME!)

Plaid Skirt:  Ann Taylor, thrifted from the Goodwill Boutique — I love the pockets on the sides that you really can’t see.  Holly Holiday’s skirt had pockets as well and I knew this one did too, so I built the rest of the outfit around its glorious plaid pockety-ness.

Tights:  Hue from Macy’s

Shoes:  Linea Paolo from Last Chance in Phoenix.  I originally had picked these up thinking I would send them to Olivia, but even though they were a size larger than my usual they fit and at $12 I couldn’t resist dragging them back to Texas.  Sorry girl!

Sunglasses:  Michael Kors (bought at the outlet down in Austin)

Necklace and earrings:  Sam Moon

Yes, I skipped the bare legs and boots, mainly because the lack of the aforementioned tan and the fact that both classrooms I have to pretend to pay attention in are set to a chilling 64 degrees.  For real people?!?  It’s November for crying out loud!

So is anyone else out there inspired by fashion on TV, and if so, what shows?  I just can’t seem to dress like the socialites on Gossip Girls and frankly the girls on CSI (any of them) just don’t seem to cut it either.  I’m just curious–I need some more inspiration!  Fill me in on what you think 🙂

‘Til next time,

Nicole

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber Bailey- Nel
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 09:54:11

    You look wonderful, I have seen the clip on the internet but the new series has not reached us yet. CSI girls forget it, love Emma on glee, Brothers and Sisters and if I had the money look out gossip girl. Happy Thanksgiving. ax

    Reply

  2. Courtney Flores
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 10:01:38

    Cute! I love Emma Pillsbury’s clothes on Glee – check out this blog! http://wwepw.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  3. Olivia
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 16:40:28

    My heart is broken! Those shoes are amazing! I just ordered a similar pair off eBay and am returning it since it doesn’t fit…oh well…perhaps I’m just not meant to have any heeled oxfords.

    As for TV, I don’t watch it…I have been re-watching the S&TC series, however, and all these years later, Carrie still inspires me!

    Happy thanksgiving!

    xoxo,
    ~Olivia

    Reply

    • mommymoxie
      Dec 01, 2010 @ 13:19:41

      Carrie is the original! Sunday nights used to be girls night back in the day since that’s when it was on HBO. My roomies and I would gather round with cocktails and drool over the clothes, wishing we lived in New York. Now we have to settle for SATC movies instead.

      I may have a pair of boots to send your way. I picked them up in your size, but they’re just a tad too big. They’re a little crazy though, so I’ll have to send pics to see what you think.

      Muah!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

