What I Wore Wednesday and the 30 Day Challenge

Well, here it is, Wednesday again!  Greetings to all that are stopping by from The Pleated Poppy or ….Meet Virginia!  I love linking up with these ladies and I love seeing what everyone else is wearing.  I’ve been a bit obsessed with fashion lately (that might be attributed to my addiction to Project Runway), and I love getting inspiration from what others are strutting out on the streets.  I’ve been much more aware of what I’ve been wearing, that’s for sure.  Tomorrow starts Mercedes Benz Fashion Week and I can’t wait to see what I need to start searching for in the thrift stores for spring.  I’ve been pretty lucky for fall, scoring some leopard prints, layering sweaters, lace tops and a few military inspired pieces, not to mention some great boots (one of the only reasons I like cooler weather).  I’m sure you’ll get to see them over the next few weeks as I strive to wear 30 different outfits in 30 days (if you want to join in the fun, grab the button on the sidebar).  So here’s what I wore this week…

Wednesday, September 1st-classes in the morning, library in the afternoon

Dress:  Ann Taylor Loft, thrifted from the Haltom City Goodwill

Cardigan:  Old Navy

Belt: Brighton, thrifted from the Haltom City Goodwill

Shoes: BCBG, thrifted from the Camp Bowie Goodwill

Jewelry:  necklace and earrings from Sam Moon, Tiffany bracelet, Citizen watch and usual rings

Tuesday, September 2– another trip to the library, this one in downtown Fort Worth (which is absolutely stunning)


Sweater:  Anne Taylor Loft, thrifted from the NRH Thift Town.  Funny thing is, I saw this sweater one day while I was in the store but didn’t buy it.  That night I dreamt about it (I know, I’m strange), so two days later I went back to see if it was still there.  Sure enough, there it was…whew!

Brown short sleeved turtleneck:  Banana Republic, thrifted years ago

Jeans:  Big Star

Booties:  Nine West, thrifted from the Haltom City Goodwill

Gold bangle bracelet: Sam Moon from a couple of years ago

Friday, September 3-Class in the morning

Black and Gray top:  H&M, thrifted from the River Oaks Goodwill

Jeans:  Gap Curvy jeans from easily five years ago

Gray ruffle shoes:  Xhilaration from Target

Saturday, September 4th-Took J3 and the BFF to the Cowtown Indie Bazaar, which is where Etsy Fort Worth merchants sells a lot of their goods

Dress:  Faded Glory dress, thrifted from the NRH Thrift Town

Boots:  Vintage Circle S, made in Brazil.  They are a tad bit small, but I am in LOVE with them!  I got them at the Campus Drive Goodwill and even the checkout girl commented on what a great find they were.

I will admit, I felt a little cliche in this outfit.  The whole prairie dress/boot thing is cute, but I’m not so sure it’s cute on me or maybe that it’s that I felt like these didn’t mesh as well together as they should have.  I’m thinking the boots are more suitable for a pair of skinny jeans and a white shirt…hmmm…

Sunday, September 5th-hanging out with the hubby and running errands

White Seersucker pants:  Issac Mizhari for Target, thrifted from the Rufe Snow Goodwill.  They have a wonderful silver thread woven through them, but once again, I had to sew the hip pockets shut and cut them out.

Purple top:  It appears to be handmade, judging from the way the elastic is sewn on the bottom and the fact that there are no tags or evidence of tags anywhere.  It was only a $1 at the Campus Drive Goodwill though the same day I got the boots featured (yesterday), and it is a beautiful purple, so why not?!

Shoes:  Nine West, thrifted from the NRH Thrift Town last year

Necklace:  Sam Moon

Monday, September 6th-Labor Day!  Thrift Town was having half off of all clothing so J3 and I hit the sale, then off to dinner with J2

Dress:  No tag, but thrifted from the Haltom City Goodwill.  It was an XL that was on my pile of projects that I needed to wade through, so I took in the sides, fixed the straps that were sewn all wonky and stiched up the strange bodice.  It still looked really strange, so I threw a shirt over the top.

Yellow top:  Ann Taylor, thrifted from the NRH Thrift Town

Shoes:  Rampage, thrifted years ago

Tuesday, September 7th-the weather was getting ugly, and I was stuck inside working on a class project for most of the day.  Pardon the sloppiness!

Green sweater:  Love Rocks, thrifted from the Rufe Snow Goodwill for $1!  Gotta love that…

Jeans:  American Eagle, also thrifted from the Rufe Snow Goodwill (and only $4)

Shoes: Merona flats, thrifted from the NRH Thrift Town

And that’s it!  Days one through seven are down in the 30 days, 30 different outfits challenge.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else is wearing this week.  As usual, I’m linking up to The Pleated Poppy and …Meet Virginia.

the pleated poppy blog

‘Til next time,
Nicole

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:58:15

    I love your style, especially the fact that you have found such great thrifted items. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Olivia
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:15:18

    Those boots are amazing! I’d like to get a better look at those! And I think they look nice with the dress…whenever I find vintage boots, they’re too small and end up in my store.

    A couple other thoughts:

    Green looks fantastic on you.

    The H&M top is a great silhouette for you.

    Your hair is gorgeous in the top photo!

    Any joiners yet in your challenge?

    Reply

  3. Justine
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 18:58:17

    I love doing WIWW. I get inspired by the link ups! Keep posting! You look great! And thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Just Better Together

    Reply

  4. Michele
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:11:40

    You have such a knack for thrifting and scoring great deals! Very cute outfits!

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:16:32

    I just can’t believe all of the cute stuff you’ve thrifted — and I just LOVE those boots!! Can’t wait to see how you utilize them this fall. Interested in the 30-day challenge … but scared :). Guess it’s 30 different outfits, not can’t-wear-the-same-shirt-twice type thing. Hmmmm, may have to try it!

    Reply

  6. Ashley
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:38:54

    Thanks for the comment; you’re so sweet! And oh, the teething…not sure we’ll survive!!

    Btw, you are ROCKIN’ those boots! Love it!

    Reply

  7. Katie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:21:23

    Left a response on my blog, but incase you don’t see it, I’m in DFW too! Isn’t this weather INSANE?! And okay, I’ll try the challenge, starting next Wednesday — I’ve already blown this week! 🙂 I’ll even put the button up so I don’t forget!

    Reply

  8. Courtney
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:00:20

    Love that Ann Taylor sweater! You find a ton of great deals at your Goodwills-ours is usually slim pickins’ in the clothing department.

    Reply

  9. Jen
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:05:39

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! You’ve got some great finds. I’ve got to hit some of the thrift stores. You must live really close to me we are in NRH.

    Reply

  10. Morgan
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 12:41:21

    Super super super cute! I love all your different looks! I am to so obsessed with Project Runway! Thanks for linking up! Hope to see you next week!

    ~Morgan

    Come check out my Fashion Link Party Weekend Wear every Wednesday!!!
    Meet Virginia!!
    Meet Virginia!!!

    Reply

  11. Katie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 13:44:27

    Love the Keller area! I’m just north of Dallas, though we eventually want to move somewhere along Keller or Haslett (sp?). Going to get the closet organized this weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  12. abby
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:16:27

    I really like the prairie dress with the cowboy boots! I found some cute boots at our goodwill the other day but they were too small. 😦

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply

  13. Wonder Mom
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 19:48:00

    OK, for reals, do you thrift shop daily? I am SO IMPRESSED with all your finds! Take me shopping with you next time… :0)

    Reply

  14. ashley
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 10:45:34

    Great outfits AGAIN!! Oh and the River Oaks Goodwill….that is where I grew up…in River Oaks, not the Goodwill!! 😉 I think the boots and dress are great! Love the Ann Taylor Loft sweater….thank goodness you had that dream!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

