Dishin’ About Business-Week Two (Finding Inspiration and my Work Space)

So here we are, week two of the Dishin’ About Business link party from Froggy Girl Designs.  Just in case you’re new to this topic, check out this post for more information.  In short, a group of us are discussing The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally and Online by Kari Chapin.  This week Mika (Froggy Girl) assigned us the task of taking pictures of our work space (the real work space, not the “ideal” work space) and sharing them, then letting everyone know what works.  I am fortunate enough that my husband lets me use our office/den area off our main room as my office.  Since it has no door, that is extremely generous of him, as it is never neat!  Granted, it’s not normally this messy, but this is how it looks right now, after returning from a weekend out of town:

To the right is my sewing area, to the left my “work” area, although I have a laptop that I mainly use on one of the tables in the sewing area so that I can look out the windows.  Those windows overlook the backyard and one of my rose gardens, which is a source of inspiration for me.  The ironing board isn’t usually up, nor is it stacked with projects, but I just went on a fabric run and therefore have no room for the new fabric until I get some sewing accomplished.   The sewing area is made up of two Ikea tables that you can mix and match the different components (legs, table tops, etc).  They don’t match the rest of the furniture in the room, but I had one from years ago and they are super cheap (like maybe $40).  I have a cutting mat, but just in case the rotary cutter that I use went off the mat, I didn’t want to mess up an expensive table.  The bookcase (which is filled with business and sewing books) has a file cabinet in the bottom that allows me to keep all of my official records in there.

This is one of my project piles.  This actually includes both personal and business projects-the personal ones are on the left.  I keep thinking that if my brain is fried from working on business projects that I might actually dig into a personal one.  That really hasn’t happened.

This is the view from my sewing table.  The computer cabinet is from Ikea and cost something like $400 a year or so ago.  The bookcases to the left are from Ikea as well and were $50 each; they hold my projects to be sewn.  Let’s not talk about the ironing board on the right side of the picture!  What a mess!  You can’t even see the smaller bookcase behind it that holds all of my notions cans and library books, as well as my plants and some other things.

Here’s a close up of the bookcases-more projects to finish.  I just did inventory last week and made sure that I could go on a sewing streak without having to run to the fabric store to buy more.  I have vowed not to buy any more fabric until all of this is used!  (Well, at least not fabric for work projects, personal projects I need a few yards to finish some things…).

For the most part, this set up works for me.  I also have more fabric stashed in the guest room closet, but that is more personal stuff and extra yardage.  The bookcases are great-they allow me to see what I need to work on all while keeping it neat and tidy.  I do wish I had a larger cutting table, but that won’t happen any time soon as there is too much stuffed into this small room as it is!  Someday, I want a slightly bigger home with a room that has a door-as you can see, the dogs like to camp out in the doorway and J3 comes in all the time to raid the desk drawers.  I do also need to move my inspiration board; when I’m working at one of the tables it’s behind me and that does me no good.  I do like the thought of an inspiration wire though…and I have a place for it.

Anyway, next week the topic is branding, so I’m really excited!  By then I hope to have this all neat and tidy, projects matched up and put away, and a ton of sewing happening. If you’re stuck in a rut with your business, join us at Froggy Girl Designs and jump in the discussion!

Froggy Girl Designs

“Til next time,

Nicole

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tehlia
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 22:59:21

    Stopping by from the Dishin about business link up
    Thanks for sharing Your real Work Space. Refreshing to see that most of us are not the Magazine, everything is perfect type people. Glad to see we are real.

    You have a great stash of fabric. I totally understand your personal pile with your business pile and not really having the time to tackle both. I have the same pile and time constraint, just in the form of Yarn.

    Reply

    • mommymoxie
      Jul 27, 2010 @ 23:55:52

      Your work is gorgeous!! I have added you to my favorites on Etsy and am lusting over a few of your scarves. Yum!

      Yes, that’s my real work space and it’s a disaster, but for some reason, it works. Granted, I’ve been trying to get it into some sense of order the past couple of days, as looking at those photos makes me realize that things are quite disheveled. Oh well!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

