Dishin’ About Business-Week 1 (So what are you afraid of?!?)

This past week I’ve been reading posts over at Froggy Girl Designs and she is hosting a discussion about the book The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally and On-line by Kari Chapin (which you can find on Amazon here, and no, I don’t get a cent for linking to it).  I ordered my copy when I read Froggy Girl was hosting a discussion, but it hasn’t arrived quite yet.  The nice thing about Amazon though, is that with many of their books you can see the table of contents, and such is the case for this one.  Chapter One is titled “Setting the Scene for Success” and the first section is “Setting Goals”.  This is also the homework assignment for this week over at Froggy Girl.  I’ll spill mine in a minute (at least the ones I have for now).

For the past seven months, I have found every reason not to get my business off the ground.  I’ve used every excuse in the book for not getting things going, from the “I don’t have time” excuse to “I’m in the research and development phase” to “I’m waiting on (this vendor) for (this product) and can’t continue without it”.  I just need to face it, I’M SCARED.  Scared that this will fail, scared no one will like what I do, scared that I won’t be able to make it, although I have a strong background in business.  In fact, of all the comments left on Froggy Girl’s original post, fear was the number one reason that other readers have for not feeling successful.  Trust me, I have plenty of time (c’mon I’m a SAHM), I have plenty of feedback from others for “research” and I could put my wares up for sale without waiting on labels/banners/websites etc.  I just need to do it and I think participating in this group will help that.

So here are my goals:

  • List 10 items in my Etsy shop by July 31st
  • Join Etsy Fort Worth by August 1st
  • Join SITS Girls by July 22nd
  • Have the second prototype of the product I’m trying to patent done by August 1st
  • And, depending on some things, have my corporation paperwork submitted by August 1st (don’t hold me to that too hard though)

I figure all of these should get me headed on the right track.  Then I can solidify a marketing plan and whatnot that is more realistic than the one I did three months ago (and have not accomplished a darn thing.)  I also found a little inspiration book that can hold all of my random business thoughts when thrifting the other day.  Isn’t it cute?

It was $1.50 and even though the lovely people at Goodwill stuck the sticker on the outside and damaged a couple of the oh-so-cute owls, I can fix that with some well placed little ditties.  Plus it was completely empty and has cool recycled paper pages.  Score!

So that’s it for this week.  It’s been fun!  For some reason I’m having issues with Froggy Girl’s Dishin’ About Business button, but here’s the button for her site to link back to…

Froggy Girl Designs

‘Til next time!

Nicole

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dishin’ About Business-Week Two (Finding Inspiration and my Work Space) « Mommy Moxie

Leave a Reply

