What I Wore Wednesday-Week 1

For the past few weeks I’ve been meaning to jump on in over at The Pleated Poppy and join Lindsey’s “What I Wore Wednesday” link party, but hadn’t had time to actually sit down and write about what I had been wearing.  Well, I made the time!  I’m avoiding doing dishes to do it, but that’s okay (I hate doing dishes).  I have really needed to participate in this since lately I’ve been a little frumpy in the “getting dressed” department.  I was looking for some motivation, and this link party is it!

So a disclaimer or two-as mentioned before, I am totally addicted to Old Navy flip flops.  Hence why almost every outfit is sporting them!  I have added some new shoes to my collection as of late, and am trying to work heels back into my wardrobe after having J3.

Second disclaimer, J2 went back to working nights this week, so I am taking showers at night so as not to disturb him once he gets to sleep.  Excuse the hair-it’s not always up under a hat or in a ponytail, but it seems like it is all the time here.  Once I get used to the new routine at our house, I’ll start doing my hair and putting on makeup again 😉

So here goes nothing…

Thursday:  It started raining later in the day, so this was to run out and then for working at home.

Green Hoodie:  Old Navy clearance

Jeans:  Ann Taylor Loft (thrifted-I bought them to cut them into capris but they were actually long enough!)

Flip Flops:  Old Navy

Friday:  Again, raining.  And I had errands to run.

Black and White Striped T-shirt:  Old Navy on clearance

Jeans:  Star from Buckle (gift from Hubby, although 90% of my jeans are from there.  Jeans are the one thing I splurge on since I’ve got really long legs and am hard to fit)

Black patent ballet flats:  Xhileration from Target-I found them on clearance for $5!!

White Nike baseball cap:   Found at Ross years ago-it’s my go-to hat

Saturday:  Thrifting and then dinner with J2 and J3

Black dress:  Gap, thrifted

Shoes:  Kenneth Cole, bought at TJ Maxx probably five years ago

Sunglasses:  I wear these on my head all the time.  They’re D&G and I love them-gift from J2

Sunday: Out running errands and shopping/thrifting.  I ran into my neighbor at Babies R Us who told me she loved my dress and then a woman in the parking lot told me how cute I looked and that she thought it was cool that I dressed up when I had my baby with me.  It made me glow!

Yellow dress:  Forever 21, thrifted (found the day before-will post about it tomorrow!)

Shoes:  Xhilaration from Target.  I was on the hunt for these shoes, but no such luck.  These were on the clearance rack though and I thought they would be the next best thing to (406) Olivia’s pair.  Granted, although they are pretty comfortable, they make me 6’3″ and a lot of people were staring . Hrmph, like I care!

Brown wood necklace:  gift from my mom when I was a kid

Here’s a close up of those super cuties!

Monday:  Passport application appointment, grocery shopping and more thrifting!

Red and Grey/White/Black Tank Tops:  Old Navy

Jeans:  Star from Buckle

Red patent leather shoes:  Mossimo, thrifted.  I love these little sling backs, but they do not like to stay on my feet (they slip off my heels).  Anyone have any suggestions on how to get that to happen?

Tuesday:  J2 was off, so we went to the pool and hung out

Black halter style swimsuit:  Old Navy from last year

Tube dress:  I made it from fabric I found at Walmart!  One seam sewn down the length of the dress and a hem, then that puppy was done.

Flip Flops:  Wanna guess?  Yep, Old Navy!

Wednesday:  Library, thrifting and Michael’s.

Brown top:  Old Navy

Shorts:  Abercrombie, thrifted

Belt:  I think Target-I’ve had that belt for literally years…

Flip Flops:  Yep, Old Navy

It appears that I go thrifting quite a bit, which is not normal.  See, J3 is at a stage where all he does is bang things around and shriek.  Since J2 is getting used to working nights after working days for the past five years, J3 and I have been leaving the house during the day so he can sleep.  Goodwill is having a huge 50% sale in all of there stores here in the Fort Worth area on the 21st and they handed out a list of all the shops in the area (there are 12).  There were many that I had never visited, so I thought for the next week or so we would hit as many as we could and use it for the Thrifty Thursdays posts.  So far I’ve found some great items, many of which I will show tomorrow and wear throughout the week!

Special thanks to my husband for taking the pictures-I need to get a full length mirror so that they will be closer and so I don’t have to wait until he wakes up in the afternoon (after running around all day).

This has been so much fun!  I can’t wait for next week.

Poppy

‘Til next time,

Nicole

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 18:01:25

    Nice. I like the black dress.

    Reply

  2. Kristin
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 20:38:42

    Love that black Gap dress – looks great on you! And loving the dog sneaking in on your photo. 🙂

    Reply

  3. mommymoxie
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 22:03:58

    I love that black dress! And yes, the dogs love to sneak into photos whenever they can 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

