Thrifty Thursday

So, I just cleaned out my closet.  For the record, I have a pretty good sized walk-in closet that my husband gets minimal amount of space in (he’s a nurse, he wears scrubs that FOLD-that’s why he got the big dresser).  After looking through my clothing situation yesterday, I realized that there were a lot of things I didn’t have a chance in hell of wearing ever again, thankyouforruiningmommysbodyson.  Lots of cute clingy tops, form fitting dresses, and short skirts.  As in about forty hanging items that needed to go benefit someone else.  So I cleaned all those out…and headed to the thrift store!  HAHAHA!  You thought I was going to say I actually had space left in my closet.  Nope, no such luck.  I feel weird if there’s too much space in there.  And I heard of a new (Well, new to me) thrift shop from an article in our local paper, the Star Telegram, so I headed on down.

Double Exposure is the resale shop of the Junior League of Fort Worth.  They’re located just south of the downtown hospital district, and I must say, I was impressed!  Granted, I love hunting for things, but I didn’t have to do much hunting as there were a lot of items that I liked.  Unfortunately, J3 was practicing his howler monkey screeches that day, so I didn’t have much time to shop, but in the short amount of time that I did, I found four super cute items, plus a few more I didn’t photograph (like receiving blankets and sleepers for J3).  Now, keep in mind, we are currently shopping for a new camera, so this picture really doesn’t do justice…

Double Exposure finds

Double Exposure finds

From left to right… a 3/4 sleeve Maggie London tan jacket ($12), Velvet tissue weight black turtleneck ($9), Forever 21 top ($4) and a Limited black and grey pinstripe short sleeve top ($6).

I was praying the Forever 21 top fit because it PERFECTLY matches a pair of earrings I bought and had never worn because they didn’t match anything-now they do!  I can’t wait to wear the jacket and the turtleneck in the fall, and I’m excited to wear that pinstripe top with a pair of capris.

As for previous Thrifty Thursday finds, here’s a couple of pictures of one of the t-shirts from Goodwill that I refashioned:

Love is in the Air t-shirt refashion

Love is in the Air t-shirt refashion-back

Now I’ve never written a tutorial, but I’ve read plenty-if anyone wants to know how I refashioned this t-shift, leave a comment requesting a tutorial and I’ll (attempt) to show you how.  Notice the word “attempt”!

Sooo…I guess I wrote this, saved it, and then forgot to post it, so Thrifty Thursday is on a Friday.  Oops!  Sorry ’bout that…

Oh, and if anyone has any advice on cameras, I would LOVE to hear your opinions!  We’re currently looking at the Canon Rebel, but we’re open.  I’ve owned a Canon before and loved that camera.  Then my husband bought this Sony one and I can’t say I care for it at all.  It’s a point and shoot and it just doesn’t take great pictures.  If you have a Canon, Nikon or Olympus, I would love to hear about what you think.

‘Til next time,

Nicole

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. italianmamachef
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 14:55:40

    I love thrifting too. I found you through BizChicksBlog on twitter. I like your blog, clean and simple. Very classy. I am also going to be reviewing the sunscreen and I can’t wait.

    Reply

    • mommymoxie
      Jul 05, 2010 @ 20:10:05

      Thanks for the compliment! I got the chance to check out your blog as well-I love the new banner and button. I’ll be sure to contact Wendy at Make It Happen to see what she can do for me button-wise. I am also dying to try your Baked Italian Lemon Chicken 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: What I Wore Wednesday-Week Two « Mommy Moxie
  3. Trackback: What I Wore Wednesday (a day late) « Mommy Moxie
  4. Trackback: What I Wore Wednesday and Fall is HERE! « Mommy Moxie

Leave a Reply

