Sunday Confessional

This Sunday Confessional will be short…today has been busy and tiring, but well worth all the work.  My hubby loved his new golf clubs, favorite home cooked food and the homemade gifts from J3 and I, but cooking elaborate meals will wear one out!  I’ve been thinking about my dad all day long, and in addition, my mother as today would have been my parent’s 40th anniversary.  It’s been 13 years since my dad passed, but the awareness of his physical absence never stops.  I miss my dad’s crazy sense of humor, and the jokes he constantly played on all of us.  I miss sitting and watching the Atlanta Braves play baseball with him, as when I was young he taught me everything there was about my favorite sport.  I miss the yellow note pad he would get out whenever there was a big decision to make, drawing a line down the middle, and labeling one side “PROS” and one side “CONS”.  Most of all, I miss the dreamer in him.  He was the eternal optimist, always seeing the brightest side of everything.  He never let anything get him down, including cancer.  Unfortunately, it did, but not without a fight.

I think one of the saddest things for me is that my husband and child will never know him but through stories and pictures.  My husband has so many of the same qualities that my father did; the strong work ethic, the love of sports, and most of all, the firm hand and loving heart.  For that I am grateful.

So on this Father’s Day, I just want to say, Dad, I miss you so much.  J2, thank you for being such a wonderful dad and husband.  To all the other dads out there, Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

