Sunday Confessionals

Yes, I know it’s Tuesday.  Yes, I know that I really am the crappiest blogger on the planet.  But, alas, if I don’t sit down and finish writing this today, I will never get on a schedule.  And I love writing, almost as much as I love reading other people’s posts and since my husband makes fun of my blog addiction, I guess maybe I’ll write so he’ll stop.  So here I am, starting this little series I’m going to call “Sunday Confessionals”.  Basically, I get to “confess” all the things I love and hate and then let people discuss them (if I ever have any followers–hey, it could happen).  I’ll start off slow–10 things today and maybe more next Sunday, but for now, here’s some tidbits about me that might (or might not) be interesting…

1.  I have lived all over the western U.S.-I was born in Washington State, have lived in Oregon, Montana, Utah, Nevada, Arizona and currently reside in Texas (Fort Worth area to be exact).  I grew up in Spokane, lived in Phoenix for 15 years and moved to Texas four years ago.  I love Texas, but miss my family in Phoenix like crazy (and the food…and mountains…and the fact everyone has a swimming pool in their backyard…but I digress!  I could write an entire post on Phoenix and probably will some day-stay tuned).

2.  That leads me to #2-I grew up with my stay at home mom, retail big-wig manager dad and two younger brothers, whom shall be called Mom, Dad, Darth B and No Neck from here on out.  They’re a pretty funny bunch, although I lost my dad to pancreatic cancer in 1997.  Yeah, cancer sucks.  The same form of cancer got my dad’s dad too, so it really sucks in our family, as that’s all we seem to go from in the end.  Darth B has a long term girlfriend, Tree Hugger, and a little girl, Ry-Boo.  No Neck has a girlfriend that I hear he’s very serious about that I will call Sonnet for an inside joke.  She did graduate from Arizona State though, which is my school of choice (no, I didn’t end up graduating from there, but my blood runs maroon and gold as I attended there for many moons in the Jake Plummer/Chris Tillman years), so I can’t knock her too much.  Together, we are quite the dysfunctional, yet hilarious, family.  Just ask my BFF’s, T-spot and BBKF.  They are always highly entertained at our family gatherings.  We are rowdy, irreverent and are constantly bantering.  My poor, poor mom.

3.  I got married young to someone that wasn’t right for me, go figure, because at 22 you barely know your own darn name.  I divorced him a year later right after my father died, which is another story for another day.  I met my (now) husband in 2005, we were married in 2007 and in 2009, two days after our second anniversary, we had had our son.  From here on out, DH is J2 and DS is J3 (yep, he’s a third…).  Both are my world, my universe, the sun(s) that I revolve around.  I couldn’t be more lucky.  Granted, there are days where I wonder if I could put both of them on Ebay or Craigslist because they’re driving me nucking futs, but those days aren’t enough for me to sell either one of them (yet).  J2 is a registered nurse and works in the cardiac and regular ICU at the hospital where J3 was born.  He is one of the best nurses I know, and having worked in the health care industry for a long time, I know quite a few.  And I’m not biased, I swear, he really is that good.  He makes me proud to be his wife every single day.  And J3?  Well, he makes everything worthwhile.  🙂

4.  After having J3, I got about three weeks of maternity leave before I started working from home, and was back to work a month after his birth.  I got pretty damn screwed on the whole maternity leave thing, but when you work for a small company, that’s how it goes.  The upside of that is that I got to take J3 to work with me every day-until I was laid off December 19th from the company that I had worked for going on six years.  Best damn thing that ever happened to me (besides the usual things like marriage, baby, etc).  I never thought I could be a SAHM, but I am and loving it!  Take that corporate America!  I plan on being my own boss and watching my child(ren) grow up, not punching the clock to make someone else money.  I am done with those days.

5.  I am about to finish up all the prelims on my business (Mommy Moxie) and am hoping to launch by July 1st.  I am an anal, analytical yet creative person (there’s the Libra in me, gotta be balanced) and I want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row so that I don’t have to go back and do things over.  I spent almost six years watching my CEO/owner of the company get screwed left and right by decisions that didn’t work out, so I’m trying not to go that route.  I know there will be some but I’d like to keep those to a minimum (insert sarcastic laugh here).

6.  Let’s see…what else.  Well, I guess you could say I’m really tall.  Like as in 5’11” tall and am a total shoe/high heels whore (which then raises the height to around 6’2″ or 6’3″).  I LOVE shoes.  I used to have about 150 pairs before an ex-boyfriend made me get rid of a bunch of them.  Now I have built the reserve back up to about 80 or so.  Granted, that’s not counting the flip flops that I am totally and completely addicted to, and Old Navy flip flops are my fave.  I have Roxy’s, Havaianas and many other designer ones, but Old Navy ones are perfect, especially the metallic ones.  Oh, Teva’s mush flip flops are up there too.  Flips flops are another 50 or so in the ol’ shoe collection, much to my husband’s chagrin.  When you live in Phoenix, you can wear them year round though and I’ve never  broken the habit.  Plus, I’m not a barefoot kind of person, so I wear them all the time around the house, which is all tile except the bedrooms, the media room and the den.  Because stepping on dog food grosses me out.

7.  That leads me to the hounds.  We have two Boxers, a 12-ish year old brindle female and a 6-ish year old flashy fawn male.  Both were adopted from a local rescue agency, Legacy Boxer Rescue, which if you’re in the DFW area and want to adopt from a great rescue group, Legacy is the one.  Our female was the first fur baby, adopted in 2006 a month after we moved to Texas.  We fostered for Legacy after that, and after five fosters, “foster failed” and adopted our male.  Currently, our boy is having thyroid issues, so he is Fat Dog and the female is Momma Dog.  They are the coolest dogs on the planet-neither of them bark, bolt out the door or fight, they stay off the furniture (when we’re home) and they love to be wherever we are.  Fat Dog lets J3 climb over him like he’s Mount Rainer, but not so much for Momma Dog.  She just gets up and leaves, poor thing.  Can’t blame her there.  Of course, them being rescue dogs and us once being volunteers, I am VERY pro-spay/neuter and am 100% for adoption.  I also tolerate professional, responsible breeders, but if you are a backyard breeder selling your puppies on the side of the road or in a parking lot and are selling them for what professional breeders sell puppies for, I will probably stop, get your info, and turn you over to the IRS, especially if I find out you’re using your female as a puppy mill and she’s on her fourth litter of pups this year.  Grrr….

8.  Another passion of mine is recycling and thrift shops.  I love finding new uses for old things and I have no problems shopping at thrift shops for clothes.  In fact, I’m thinking of doing a “Thrifty Thursday” post to show what I find and how I’ve re-purposed or re-fashioned it.  There is another blog that I read that does this on occasion, so I need to figure out which one does it and link up.  Some of my favorite finds are shoes (go figure) and t-shirts.  I love re-fashioning old t’s them into something new and funky.  Granted, I don’t have much luck with pants from thrift stores.  But when you’re trying to find jeans with at least a 35″ inseam, that’s not surprising.  I am frugal/cheap when it comes to a lot of things, but I will fork out for a good pair of pants.

9.  I am also an avid book knerd.  Yes, I know, I spelled that with a “k”, mainly because there is a really cool pub here in Fort Worth called The Flying Saucer that spells their knerd as knurd and I think it’s fun.  And it’s my dang post so I can do what I want.  Anyway, I was heavily into children’s lit in college (could’ve been that I was an education major at the time), and the love has never died.  J3’s room is filled with all kinds of books, many of them that were mine as a child.  My mom is now a librarian (she went back to work when the youngest, No Neck, was 12), and she has collected quite a few for me, so I have everything from Nancy Drew first editions to Chris Van Allsburg picture books.  I also read “grown-up” books and can usually be counted on to have my library card maxed out.  I don’t watch too much TV, so while my husband is watching, I usually have my nose buried in a novel.  Oh, and I read REALLY fast.  As in read-the-last-Harry-Potter-book-in-six-hours kinda fast.  That’s what happens when you’re the kid with the flashlight under the covers reading a book.

10.  Last but not least, I am also a music junkie.  If I’m working or doing chores around the house, I’ve got some tunes on in the background.  I’ll listen to almost anything, but my faves include Dave Matthews, Lady Gaga, Three Days Grace, Nickelback (don’t hate-Chad writes some thought-inspiring lyrics) and a band from Phoenix called Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers.  Remember The Refreshments?  Roger was the lead singer for them and then broke off when they got too big to form his own band, taking the drummer, P.H. Naffah with him.  In short, they rock.  They put on a huge show in Rocky Point, Mexico (Puerto Penasco) at least once a year that we used to drive down from Phoenix for and it’s one huge par-tay.  I mean hell, Roger passes tequila around to those in the front row and partakes himself, so by the end of the show he’s having the audience sing because he’s a little tipsy.  The shows used to be held in a big vacant dirt lot with a stage put up in front, but since we’ve moved to Texas they moved to a different venue and I haven’t been able to go.  Still, they’re a riot and very fan friendly.  Maybe I’ll write a post on the time the bass player, Nick Scropos, tried to pimp me out to Mike Tyson at the bar.  No joke…I might have to remind him of that when T-Spot and I go see them play on the 18th of June up in Denton at the Boiler Room.   The Peacemakers have been a big part of my and J2’s relationship–in fact, we were married on the beach in Rocky Point because we loved the area after having been to so many concerts down there.  It really is a beautiful, sleepy little town, just south of the border (hehehe) and right on the ocean.  Where I would kill to be right now…with a marg in hand and a book in the other.  What a life!!

Well folks, that’s it for today!  I could go on and on, but J3 is up from his nap and I need to go to the fabric store (and maybe a thrift store or two).

Until next time!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

